2017 Jazz & Rib Fest Rib Award Winners

Posted on July 24, 2017


A total of 23 rib teams from across North America competed for Best Rib Awards Presented By Moo Moo Express Car Wash. The awards included Critics’ Choice, Critics’ All-Ohio Champion, Big Whigs’ Award, People’s Choice powered by (614) Magazine, Best Sauce, and the Silver Axe Award presented by the Columbus Division of Fire.

Big Whigs’ Award

Champion – Pigfoot BBQ Co.
2nd Place – Porky N’ Beans
3rd Place – Desperado’s BBQ & Rib Co.

Critics’ Choice

Champion – Porky N’Beans
2nd Place – Desperado’s BBQ & Rib Co.
3rd Place – Pigtails BBQ Co.

Critics’ All-Ohio Champion

Desperado’s BBQ & Rib Co.

Best Sauce

BBQ Masters

People’s Choice powered by (614) Magazine

Pigtails BBQ Co.

Silver Axe Award

Big Boned BBQ Co.


Dale Heydlauff – American Electric Power
Keenan Sanders – American Electric Power
Clark Donley – Sunny 95
Kyle Broderick – Anheuser-Busch
Bob Kendrick – ABC 6/ FOX 28
Bill Kelly – ABC 6/ FOX 28
Wayne Lewis – 614 Magazine
Keith Lawrence – Moo Moo Express Car Wash
Paul Rakosky – Columbus Recreation and Parks Department
Eric Rickabaugh – Rickabaugh Graphics
Dr. Frederic Bertley – COSI
Kara Anderson – Live Technologies

Professional Critics

Dave Karn – Columbus Division of Fire
Abbi Buckley – DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Columbus Downtown
Keith Kuhlmann – Kansas City Barbeque Society
Lt. Steve Chesshir – Columbus Division of Fire
Christie Kuhlmann – Kansas City Barbeque Society
Dan Hurst – Kansas City Barbeque Society
Janet Hedges – Columbus Division of Fire
Ann Flora – Kansas City Barbeque Society
Scott Armstrong – Kansas City Barbeque Society

Click Here for a list of competing rib teams.

Click Here to learn more about the awards and to see past rib team winners.

Featured Events |